Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  The Book Of Mormon at Nederlander Theatre

The Book Of Mormon

Nederlander Theatre
24 W. Randolph Chicago

THE BOOK OF MORMON is the Winner of 9 Tony Awards including Best Musical! From Trey Parker and Matt Stone, four-time Emmy Award-winning creators of "South Park," and Tony Award-winner Robert Lopez, co-creator of the Tony Award-winning Best Musical Avenue Q, comes THE BOOK OF MORMON, a new Broadway musical that Jon Stewart of The Daily Show describes as, "a crowning achievement, so good it makes me angry" and by Entertainment Weekly as "the funniest musical of all time." Don't miss your chance to see what Ben Brantley of The New York Times calls "the best musical of this century." Don't miss THE BOOK OF MORMON Chicago.

Thru - Dec 2, 2018



Price: $45-$172

Show Type: Musical

Box Office: 800-775-2000

Running Time: 2hrs, 30mins; one intermission

Buy Tickets


Nederlander Theatre Seating Chart


Suggested Nearby Restaurant

  The Book Of Mormon Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Chicago Tribune - Highly Recommended

"...Any seven-year-old production has to work to keep the gloss on the laughs and the top-tier talent involved in the show. But the current “Book of Mormon” cast — led by Kevin Clay, Conner Peirson and Kayla Pecchioni — is all you could reasonably ask. Peirson is playing Elder Cunningham, the role that made Ben Platt a star in Chicago, and he’s a worthy heir to the tradition."
Read Full Review

Chris Jones


Chicago Sun Times - Highly Recommended

"...Seven years after its debut, “The Book of Mormon” retains its original glory. The cast is as big as it was on Broadway. Scott Pask’s elaborate set moves from Mission Control in Salt Lake City to a village in Uganda like a well-oiled machine (please note that the hut in Uganda mimics the architecture of massive Mormon Temple architecture that frames the set). The denizens of hell in “Spooky Hell Dream” are all accounted for: Genghis Khan. Hitler. People who drink coffee."
Read Full Review

Catey Sullivan


Daily Herald - Highly Recommended

"...Glorying in Broadway conventions if only to undercut them, determinedly violating any and all finer sensibilities, "The Book of Mormon" remains rip-roaring good fun. And the version playing now at the PrivateBank Theatre downtown (if only they could find a way to lampoon that sponsorship name the way they skewer Starbucks without even mentioning the coffee company) benefits from Cody Jamison Strand, fresh from the Broadway company, who steals the show -- and rightfully so -- as seemingly second banana Elder Cunningham."
Read Full Review

Ted Cox


Chicago Reader - Highly Recommended

"...Book of Mormon is crass and juvenile, but also mostly smart about its targets, which include colonialism in both theater and the larger world. ("Hasa Diga Eebowai"-allegedly translated as "Fuck you, God"-remains the best send-up of "Hakuna Matata" imaginable.) The show also offers a reminder of why believing in something, whether friendship or faith, matters when you're facing a sea of troubles (AIDS, warlords, maggots in your scrotum)."
Read Full Review

Kerry Reid


Time Out Chicago - Highly Recommended

"...The production remains as sharp as ever, and the clever script and score impress anew with their canny mix of Pythonesque ridiculousness, keen social commentary and astute homage to the musical-theater canon. (Having seen a couple of stagings of The King & I since my last viewing only reinforced for me how dead-on is Parker, Lopez and Stone’s skewering of the former’s “Small House of Uncle Thomas” sequence.) For worshipers of musicals, The Book of Mormon remains a sacred text."
Read Full Review

Kris Vire


ChicagoCritic - Highly Recommended

"...Before Hamilton arrives at The PrivateBank Theatre this fall, the last new musical to cause a sensation on Broadway, The Book of Mormon, is playing through the summer. Fans of Trey Parker and Matt Stone's long-running adult cartoon South Park will be familiar with the two's delight in filling their show with musical and dance numbers, as well as ripping authoritarian religions, and know that Mormonism has a weird, special place in the comic duos' hearts. The Book of Mormon, now five years old, has returned to Chicago for second time in two years, still wildly popular, but more of a known entity. As much of the show's satire is aimed at the cliches of so-called Golden Age musicals as at do-gooder fantasies of Africa, and the laughs still roll easily. But they now do so with the ease of familiarity, much like how watching a classic South Park episode becomes tinged with sentimentality."
Read Full Review

Jacob Davis


Let's Play at ChicagoNow - Highly Recommended

"...This show that was awarded nine Tony Awards, for Best Musical and a Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album is a must see, can't miss performance. We tried not to laugh and keep our usual review face on, but this Twizzler in your face musical brought out our giggly side."
Read Full Review

Rick and Brenda McCain


Around The Town Chicago - Highly Recommended

"...For those of you unfamiliar with "The Book Of Mormon" it features a book, lyrics and music by Trey Parker, Robert Lopez and Matt Stone. Parker and Stone are the creators of "South Park" and Lopez is one of the creators of the award winning "Avenue Q". Just knowing that should tell you that you are in for a night filled with laughter. Also- be prepared! There is some language that will rattle the youngsters and even some of the older members of the audience were not prepared. BE PREPARED! If you plan to visit The Private Bank Theatre for this wonderful evening of laughter and spoof, you will hear some language including the F-Bomb, but you will have a ball!"
Read Full Review

Alan Bresloff


Chicagoland Musical Theatre - Highly Recommended

"...Broadway in Chicago's third go-around with the South Park guys' over-the-top send up to religion, generally, and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, specifically, is as crass, cringe-worthy and hilarious as ever."
Read Full Review

Barry Reszel


Picture This Post - Recommended

"...This BOOK OF MORMON tour is sure to please fans of the musical as this production is the same as we've seen before. Though it might not be the best fit for families with small children (the entire show is adult content), it would be a good fit for anyone who likes comedic, parody musicals."
Read Full Review

Alexis Bugajski


  The Book Of Mormon Photo Gallery


Twitter Follow Us On Twitter