Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Ghosts at Redtwist Theatre

Ghosts

Redtwist Theatre
1044 W. Bryn Mawr Ave Chicago

On the eve of affirming her late husband's prestigious legacy, Helen Alving strives to finally bury his long-festering secrets. The fiery desires of her estranged son, Oswald, drive all misdeeds into the light. Relentless in its examination of the white feminist, Erin Murray's world premiere adaptation of Henrik Ibsen's masterpiece promises audiences the most incendiary Ghosts since 1882. It asks: are you devoted to a greater good...or just your own demise?

Thru - Dec 10, 2018

Fri, Nov 16: 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 17: 7:30pm
Sun, Nov 18: 3:00pm
Fri, Nov 23: 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 24: 7:30pm
Sun, Nov 25: 3:00pm
Thu, Nov 29: 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 30: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 1: 7:30pm
Sun, Dec 2: 3:00pm
Tue, Dec 4: 7:30pm
Thu, Dec 6: 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 7: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 8: 7:30pm
Sun, Dec 9: 3:00pm
Mon, Dec 10: 7:30pm


Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 773-728-7529

www.redtwist.org



Nearby Restaurants

  Ghosts Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Around The Town Chicago - Recommended

"...It is difficult to adapt a classic play for young audiences, and when that play is Henrik Ibsen’s masterpiece “Ghosts”, it might seem impossible. A tip of my winter (brr it got cold) hat to Erin Murray on her new 100 minute version of this tale, now on the intimate stage of a Redtwist Theatre on Bryn Mawr. Those of you who know the space, know that it is the epitome of the “storefront” and for many of their productions, audience members feel as if they were in the play. After all, they are onstage."
Read Full Review

Alan Bresloff


Chicago Theatre Review - Highly Recommended

"...Ibsen was apparently unhappy with the English translation of the title as 'Ghosts.' A more literal translation of the Norwegian would be 'revenant' - literally that which returns. Given that the show is 136 years old, the fact that its themes about hypocrisy and society's expectations, particularly for women, feel so relevant today certainly evokes the image of a shambling zombie slowly but surely coming for us."
Read Full Review

Kevin Curran


Picture This Post - Recommended

"...Although Ghosts was his most controversial play within his lifetime, it was controversial for reasons that seem ridiculous today, in comparison to other of his works which still make audiences question themselves. The new adaptation by director Erin Murray refocuses attention on some of Ghosts’ deeper questions in a tight one-act."
Read Full Review

Jacob Davis


  Ghosts Photo Gallery


Twitter Follow Us On Twitter