Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Cardboard Piano at TimeLine Theatre Company

Cardboard Piano

TimeLine Theatre Company
615 W. Wellington Ave Chicago

A hopeful and moving story of loss, love, and the power of faith. At the dawn of the millennium in a darkened church in northern Uganda, the daughter of American missionaries and a local teenage girl prepare to exchange vows in a secret, makeshift wedding ceremony. But when the brutality of the war zone around them encroaches on their fragile union, the two are faced with a reality they cannot escape. Confronting the religious and cultural roots of intolerance, CARDBOARD PIANO explores violence and its aftermath, as well as the human capacity for hatred, forgiveness, and love.

Thru - Mar 17, 2019

Wed, Jan 23: 7:30pm
Thu, Jan 24: 7:30pm
Fri, Jan 25: 8:00pm
Sat, Jan 26: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Jan 27: 2:00pm
Wed, Jan 30: 7:30pm
Thu, Jan 31: 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 1: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 2: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 3: 2:00pm
Wed, Feb 6: 7:30pm
Thu, Feb 7: 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 8: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 9: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 10: 2:00pm
Wed, Feb 13: 7:30pm
Thu, Feb 14: 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 15: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 16: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 17: 2:00pm
Wed, Feb 20: 7:30pm
Thu, Feb 21: 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 22: 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 23: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 24: 2:00pm
Wed, Feb 27: 7:30pm
Thu, Feb 28: 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 1: 8:00pm
Sat, Mar 2: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Mar 3: 2:00pm
Wed, Mar 6: 8:30pm
Thu, Mar 7: 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 8: 8:00pm
Sat, Mar 9: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Mar 10: 2:00pm
Tue, Mar 12: 7:30pm
Wed, Mar 13: 7:30pm
Thu, Mar 14: 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 16: 4:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Mar 17: 2:00pm



Price: $40-$54

Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 773-281-8463

Running Time: 2hrs, 20mins

www.timelinetheatre.com



Nearby Restaurants

  Cardboard Piano Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Chicago Tribune - Somewhat Recommended

"...Director Mechelle Moe's production has a lot to like, not the least of which is a stunner of a set from Jeffrey D. Kmiec that constructs an entire sanctuary inside TimeLine's space - which is, of course, a theater inside a church building. It's a beautiful piece of artistry, gorgeously lit by Brandon J. Wardell so that is reveals itself only gradually, morphing from a kind of war-zone hiding place to a place that might offer absolution, if the right kinds of truth and reconciliation occurs within its walls."
Read Full Review

Chris Jones


Chicago Sun Times - Recommended

"...Without spoiling too much about the events of the second act, I found it delivered emotional returns far beyond what I’d expected after a sloggy Act I. The first half of “Cardboard Piano” features a fair amount of repetitive and stilted dialogue and an unearned shock ending, as well as some suspect dramaturgy. (As a gay man not much older than Adiel and Chris, I found myself wondering how they came to such peace with their forbidden love in 1999 while living at the intersection of two deeply disapproving cultures — Evangelical Christianity and post-colonial Uganda — and with few role models available to them.)"
Read Full Review

Kris Vire


Stage and Cinema - Recommended

"...Because Cardboard Piano is more a play of situations than action, some will find these 130 minutes more static than engaging. The final stage picture amounts to an apotheosis within a benediction. But it equally confirms how much of Jung’s drama plays like scattered snapshots from a constant war zone. What some will see as miracles in the making others may dismiss as arbitrary good or bad luck."
Read Full Review

Lawrence Bommer


Let's Play at ChicagoNow - Highly Recommended

"...Let's Play 'Highly Recommend' that you check out this powerful play 'Cardboard Piano' at Timeline Theatre, where the church and Christianity can collide; whereas it should be a place of healing, compassion, and kindness instead of hate and intolerance."
Read Full Review

Rick and Brenda McCain


Chicago Theatre Review - Highly Recommended

"...Mechelle Moe's staging of this new play by Hansol Jung is dynamic and gritty. She pulls no punches, nor shies away from anger or the passions of Jung's characters. Her production emphasizes the sad irony of how Christians profess to be about love and forgiveness, but often vehemently deny members of the LGBT community this right. Played upon Jeffrey D. Kmiec's stunning scenic design, the audience becomes a fly on the wall, with a closeness seldom achieved in other productions of this acclaimed Humana Festival offering. Great credit goes to Elle Erickson's authentic-looking costumes, Brandon Wardell's heavenly lighting design and, especially, excellent dialect work by Eva Breneman."
Read Full Review

Colin Douglas


Chicago On Stage - Highly Recommended

"...Director Mechelle Moe shows us the passion of both love and hatred in various scenes in this play. In each act, there is a marriage being celebrated: one a wedding night and the other an anniversary. The same actress, Adia Alli, plays both wives and is able to bring the emotion of new love into both her teenage joy and the more mature love of a grown woman. Her characters brim over with their love, and Moe helps her to shape them as completely separate people in a similar emotional situation. The difference, though, is that the young girl can actually believe that all of her problems can be solved by running away and the older woman knows that her job is to remain where she is as a means of support to her troubled husband."
Read Full Review

Karen Topham


PicksInSix - Recommended

"...Jung's riveting dialogue in "Cardboard Piano," born from a unique, informed and international perspective, with the inspired performances of an emerging group of talented actors, will certainly stay with you."
Read Full Review

Ed Tracy


Picture This Post - Somewhat Recommended

"...there are some very strong performances in this production. Jung's Act II gives the characters passionate moments to show their acting chops, and especially Ealy, who is clearly up to the task. Mostly, for this writer, it is Martin's portrayal of a wide-eyed and tortured child soldier in the first act that is totally arresting and for lovers of superb acting well worth putting CARDBOARD PIANO on their calendars."
Read Full Review

Amy Munice


  Cardboard Piano Photo Gallery

   This show has been Jeff Recommended*

*The designation of "Jeff Recommended" is given to a production when at least ONE ELEMENT of the show was deemed outstanding by the Joseph Jefferson Awards Committee.


Twitter Follow Us On Twitter