Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  America's Best Outcast Toy - An Oddball Holiday Reality Musical at Pride Arts Center - The Broadway

America's Best Outcast Toy - An Oddball Holiday Reality Musical

Pride Arts Center - The Broadway
4139 N. Broadway Chicago

We all know the story of the outcast toys and how they were rescued from their island by a certain famous reindeer (may he rest in peace). But what became of the outcast toys when they came back to America? They became huge celebrities, of course! Now, years later, they return to the island to compete in a series of challenges where they must sing, model, design fashion, outwit/outplay/outlast and bake cakes, and of course, dance for their lives, all to prove that they are AMERICA'S BEST. And the audience actually determines the results with their vote, meaning every night can be a whole new show!

Thru - Jan 12, 2020

Fri, Dec 13: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 14: 7:30pm
Sun, Dec 15: 5:00pm
Thu, Dec 19: 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 20: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 21: 7:30pm
Sun, Dec 22: 5:00pm
Thu, Dec 26: 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 27: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 28: 7:30pm
Sun, Dec 29: 5:00pm
Thu, Jan 2: 7:30pm
Fri, Jan 3: 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 4: 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 5: 5:00pm
Thu, Jan 9: 7:30pm
Fri, Jan 10: 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 11: 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 12: 5:00pm



Price: $30-$40

Show Type: Musical

Running Time: 1hr, 30mins

www.pridefilmsandplays.com


Click Here for Half-Price Tickets



  America's Best Outcast Toy - An Oddball Holiday Reality Musical Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Chicago Tribune - Somewhat Recommended

"...This overplayed new seasonal attraction (needless subtitle: "An OddBall Holiday Reality Musical") at Pride Films and Plays, which had its world premiere on Monday night, has a number of vexing flaws. Aside from a lack of funny lines, top of the list is the lack of any kind of normative character or situational anchor, something or someone who could land us in some kind of truthful circumstance that would then allow the actors to build interesting and potential humorous relationships."
Read Full Review

Chris Jones


Stage and Cinema - Recommended

"...Your enjoyment of this warm-hearted and well-intentioned trifle will hinge on how much novelty you can find in a concept that practically writes itself. The creators' sympathies for life's underdogs is never in doubt, just the sharpness of their focus on the familiar. The most original elements - the dozen musical numbers, coached by Cody Michael Bradley - shake and bake the seemingly unavoidable cliches, and the performances sell these songs."
Read Full Review

Lawrence Bommer


Chicagoland Musical Theatre - Highly Recommended

"...Overall, America’s Best Outcast Toy is a holiday treat for anyone who loves reality television shows, knows the misfit toys and is willing to celebrate the misfit toy in each of us."
Read Full Review

Eric Karas


Chicago On Stage - Somewhat Recommended

"...America's Best Outcast Toy is a silly, fun addition to the very crowded Chicago Christmas play field, but it isn't one of the best. If you need a show about toys, I'd suggest The Steadfast Tin Soldier at Lookingglass or either of the two versions of The Nutcracker that are currently playing. And then, of course, there is the other new musical about toys, The Land of Forgotten Toys, which I will review next week. If you are a toy in Chicago, the 2019 Year of Chicago Theatre is coming to an end with you in mind. Now go play."
Read Full Review

Karen Topham


  America's Best Outcast Toy - An Oddball Holiday Reality Musical Photo Gallery


Twitter Follow Us On Twitter