Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Voice Of Good Hope at City Lit Theater

Voice Of Good Hope

City Lit Theater
1020 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue Chicago

A dramatic portrait of Barbara Jordan, the first African American congresswoman to be elected from the Deep South. The play follows Jordan from her childhood in Houston's Fifth Ward through her receiving the Medal of Freedom from President Bill Clinton, and deals with her pivotal role on the House Judiciary Committee during its hearings concerning the possible impeachment of President Richard Nixon, her complex political relationship with Texas power broker Robert Strauss, her struggle with muscular dystrophy, and her twenty-year relationship with Nancy Earl, her companion and occasional speechwriter, and ultimately her caregiver. The play premiered at Victory Gardens Theater in 2000 and has been produced from New York to San Francisco in the years since then.

Jan 3, 2020 - Feb 16, 2020

Fri, Jan 3: 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 4: 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 5: 3:00pm
Fri, Jan 10: 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 11: 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 12: 3:00pm
Fri, Jan 17: 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 18: 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 19: 3:00pm
Fri, Jan 24: 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 25: 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 26: 3:00pm
Fri, Jan 31: 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 1: 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 2: 3:00pm
Mon, Feb 3: 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 7: 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 8: 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 9: 3:00pm
Mon, Feb 10: 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 14: 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 15: 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 16: 3:00pm



Price: $27-$32

Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 773-293-3682

www.citylit.org




Twitter Follow Us On Twitter