Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Romeo and Juliet at Chicago Shakespeare Theater

Romeo and Juliet

Chicago Shakespeare Theater
800 East Grand Avenue Chicago

A city, two families, and a hatred so old that no one remembers its cause. Defying every boundary forged from their families' enmity, Romeo and Juliet fall in love. In a society torn apart by hate, Shakespeare sets his immortal tale of love and senseless tragedy. For Chicago Shakespeare Artistic Director Barbara Gaines, now is the time to direct her first Romeo and Juliet, as Chicago awaits her vision for the most famous love story of all time.

Thru - Dec 22, 2019

Fri, Nov 15: 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 16: 3:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Nov 17: 2:00pm & 6:30pm
Wed, Nov 20: 1:00pm & 7:30pm
Thu, Nov 21: 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 22: 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 23: 3:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Nov 24: 2:00pm
Wed, Nov 27: 1:00pm & 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 29: 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 30: 3:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 1: 2:00pm & 6:30pm
Wed, Dec 4: 1:00pm & 7:30pm
Thu, Dec 5: 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 6: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 7: 3:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 8: 2:00pm
Wed, Dec 11: 1:00pm & 7:30pm
Thu, Dec 12: 1:00pm & 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 13: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 14: 3:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 15: 2:00pm
Tue, Dec 17: 7:30pm
Wed, Dec 18: 1:00pm & 7:30pm
Thu, Dec 19: 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 20: 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 21: 3:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 22: 2:00pm


Stage: Courtyard Theater

Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 312-595-5600

www.chicagoshakes.com


Click Here for Half-Price Tickets


Chicago Shakespeare Theater Seating Chart


Nearby Restaurants

  Romeo and Juliet Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Chicago Sun Times - Recommended

"...Director Barbara Gaines’ overall concept is bold, so much so that her kaleidoscopic visuals sometimes threaten to overpower the humans on stage."
Read Full Review

Catey Sullivan


Let's Play at ChicagoNow - Highly Recommended

"...The tragic love story that could have taken place anywhere in time with an unforgettable cast of talent made this version forever embedded in our memories surrounding the two lovebirds and their families, the Capulet and Montague saga."
Read Full Review

Rick and Brenda McCain


Around The Town Chicago - Highly Recommended

"...When it comes to the works of William Shakespeare, there is none so fine as Barbara Gaines of Chicago Shakespeare Theater to do the job. Gaines is like a “master chef” creating something unique from the same ingredients that others have used for centuries to create something tasty for the younger theater audiences!"
Read Full Review

Alan Bresloff


NewCity Chicago - Highly Recommended

"...Chicago Shakespeare Theater offers up a unique and creative take on “Romeo and Juliet.” Set in a modern urban setting, this production explodes with color. The primary set design itself, a multi-pastel-colored basketball court, feels like something more at home in a Spike Lee Joint than on a Shakespearean stage. The diverse and talented cast matches this vision and appear as the perfect meld between two different eras and a seemingly neverending cycles of violence and retribution."
Read Full Review

Noel Schecter


Chicago Theatre Review - Recommended

"...For a Shakespearean performance that feels as up-to-date as real life, and as powerful as today’s headlines, this multicultural production is a revelation. Theatergoers who think that Shakespearean dramas are stuffy and too erudite for young people to appreciate will be pleasantly surprised with this show’s accessibility. Barbara Gaines, the gifted and visionary Artistic Director of Chicago Shakespeare Theatre, has imbued one the Bard’s most popular, tragic love stories with her magic touch, creating a brand new, contemporary production that’s certain to generate a new audience of fans for Mr. Shakespeare’s plays."
Read Full Review

Colin Douglas


Chicagoland Theater Reviews - Somewhat Recommended

"...Ultimately, the CST revival is defeated by the undercasting of the major roles as well as many of the complementary roles. Still, the production does have its moments, being a Shakespeare play it could hardly be otherwise. The most convincing scenes are the bloody gang fight that leads to the deaths of Mercutio and Tybalt and the later passionate eruptions of James Newcomb’s brilliant Mr. Capulet. But they aren’t enough."
Read Full Review

Dan Zeff


Chicago Theater and Arts - Somewhat Recommended

"...That Chicago Shakespeare Theater Artistic Director Barbara Gaines would like to remind CST audiences that the problems Shakespeare dramatized and Bernstein put to music still exist, is laudable. However, given the set design, cast and costumes of the Gaines production, there probably should be a different title."
Read Full Review

Jodie Jacobs


Chicago On Stage - Somewhat Recommended

"...However, it is the star-crossed lovers themselves who ultimately determine the strength of this play, and even though both of them are fine actors with several excellent moments here, they just never seem to be a real couple. They also don’t feel young enough to be thoughtlessly swept away by the tumult of their parents’ hate."
Read Full Review

Karen Topham



Twitter Follow Us On Twitter