Porchlight Music Theatre Announces Cast for Blues In The Night

Nov 23, 2021
Blues in the Night by Porchlight Music Theatre

Award-winning Porchlight Music Theatre announces the cast for the "Best Musical" Tony Award-nominated Blues in the Night, conceived by Sheldon Epps, with the music of Bessie Smith, Johnny Mercer, Harold Arlen, Vernon Duke, Gordon Jenkins, Alberta Hunter and others, January 15, 2022 - February 27, 2022 at The Ruth Page Center for the Arts, 1016 N. Dearborn St. The first Mainstage production of 2022 is directed and choreographed by Kenny Ingram, music directed by David Fiorello, assistant choreography by Ariel M. Dorsey and associate music director and conductor Maulty Jewell IV.

The Blues is one of America's original art forms and Chicago was the home to some of the greatest Blues performers ever. Set in a history-filled hotel on Chicago's south side one fateful night in the late 1930s, this Tony Award-nominated celebration interweaves the stories of three women who share their highs and lows of romance through the iconic songs of Bessie Smith, Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Harold Arlen, Alberta Hunter, Jimmy Cox, Ida Cox and others.

The Blues in the Night cast includes Felicia P. Fields ("The Lady from the Road") in her Porchlight Mainstage debut; Donica Lynn ("The Woman of the World") last seen by Porchlight audiences in her Jeff-Award nominated role in Duke Ellington's Sophisticated Ladies, Clare Kennedy ("The Girl with a Date") a follow up to her performance in Porchlight's New Faces Sing Broadway 1961; Evan Tyrone Martin ("The Man in the Saloon) last seen in Porchlight's Jeff Award-winning Dreamgirls and Terrell Armstrong ("The Dancing Man") last seen in Porchlight's A Chorus Line. 

Blues in the Night's production team includes: Kenny Ingram, (director & choreographer); David Fiorello, (music director); Ariel M Dorsey, (assistant choreographer) and Maulty Jewell IV (associate music director/conductor), Alden Vasquez (production stage manager); Ruben Echoles (costume and wig designer), Brandon Wardell (lighting designer), Eric Backus (sound designer), Angela Weber Miller (scenic designer), Caitlin McCarthy (properties designer), Matthew Chase (audio engineer), Rachel West (lighting supervisor), Jennifer Aparicio (production manager), Henry Wilkinson (technical director), Rashaad A. Bond, (producing artistic associate); Alex Rhyan, (production and operations director) and Michael Weber, (artistic director).