Theatre In Chicago      
Your Source For What's On Stage In Chicago 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Gentle at The Den Theatre

Gentle

The Den Theatre
1329-1333 N. Milwaukee Chicago

GENTLE, is a world premiere adapted and directed by Founding Artistic Director Zeljko Djukic, based on the short story "A Gentle Woman", by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. It follows a young immigrant woman, a pawnbroker, and their maid over the course of a short, mysterious marriage. Dostoevsky's brilliant tale of the obsessive power of ego, and its ability to push ordinary people to extraordinary measures, is modernized by Djukic as a story of our times. Surprising and sharp-witted, GENTLE combines the Russian master storyteller's ability to reveal extremes of human nature, with TUTA's characteristic sophistication and inventiveness.

Presented by TUTA Theatre Chicago

Thru - Mar 26, 2017

Sun, Feb 26: 3:00pm
Thu, Mar 2: 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 3: 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 4: 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 5: 3:00pm
Thu, Mar 9: 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 10: 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 11: 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 12: 3:00pm
Thu, Mar 16: 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 17: 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 18: 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 19: 3:00pm
Thu, Mar 23: 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 24: 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 25: 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 26: 3:00pm



Price: $20-$40

Show Type: Drama

Box Office: 1-800-838-3006

www.tutato.com



  Gentle Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

NewCity Chicago - Recommended

"...Fortunately, Tucker and Demerath are effective storytellers, forming strong images in Djukic’s world (already a stable architecture) such that we’re able to maintain a grasp on the larger picture of “Gentle”: love in a capitalist society; the nature of wounds; how jealousy and want for an idea can erode a person. And at it’s core: what are the lies we tell ourselves to protect our hearts?"
Read Full Review

Jay Van Ort



Twitter Follow Us On Twitter